Missy Piggle Wiggle and The Whatever Cure

Dear Missy, As you know, my husband, Mr. Piggle-Wiggle was called away some years ago by the pirates. After waiting so long for him to return, I have decided to take matters into my own hands and find out what happened to him. I’ll be leaving tomorrow. While I’m gone, could you stay at the farm and live in the upside-down house?

With this note from her aunt clutched in hand, Missy Piggle-Wiggle arrived in Little Spring Valley. Here in this world of magic and childish pleasure, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle has worked her magic again and again. Now it’s her niece’s turn. Along with Lester the pig, Wag the dog, Penelope the parrot, and Lightfoot the cat, Missy Piggle-Wiggle takes her aunt’s place to fix all of Little Spring Valley’s mischief makers and mend all of the town’s bumps. In this volume Missy provides the “Whatever Cure”, the “Know-It-All Cure”, the “Gum-Smacking Cure”, and more!

9781250071699_custom-ae79202f54eba232b3596cb464a3f4d0d733066f-s400-c85I don’t know about you, but when I was little, there were several fictional women I had great respect for. I believed Mary Poppins was magic, that Nanny McPhee was scarily amazing, and that Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle was trouble’s worst enemy.

So imagine my delight when I discovered that there was a book titled Missy Piggle-Wiggle. It’s a fresh start on one of my favorite children’s series, but I have to admit, I was slightly nervous when picking it up. We own all four of the Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books and I was sincerely hoping that this new author would respect the delightful books preceding it. I was pleased to see that Ann M. Martin honored the spirit of the original books with a wonderful book. This book is a fount of enjoyment. Families can read this, kids can read this, adults can read it. Anyone can sit down with this book and enjoy the simplicity and time-old wisdom of small-town America. It’s fresh, funny, and above-all a sweet ride with manners, kindness, and just plain quirkiness throughout.

I highly recommend this book and commend the authors and illustrator for creating such a lovable read. I will surely be looking for a sequel in the future.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

