American Girl: Ultimate Visual Guide

Have I ever mentioned I love American Girl? If not, here’s a book to remind you of a great company and story:

636071411154411042-9781465444967-2-In the 1980s, Pleasant T. Rowland had a remarkable idea. Inspired by the history of our country and the true heroics of girls both past and present, she would create a company for girls. There would be dolls, books, and whole stories created for girls and their mothers to enjoy together. In 1986, that dream became a reality when the first three American Girl dolls debuted: Kirsten Larson, Samantha Tarkington, and Molly McIntire. Girls eagerly bought and used these first dolls and the company slowly expanded, first adding new wardrobe collections for their first dolls, then adding characters Samantha Tarkington (in 1990), Felicity Merriman (1991), Addy Walker (1993), and finally Josefina Montoya (1997). As the company kept expanding, more stories, more characters, and more merchandise was introduced. Girls could now get dolls that looked like them, go to an American Girl store with their doll, and read American Girl magazine with their doll. As the 21st century began, Pleasant Company became American Girl company and two new dolls were released: Kit Kittredge, an aspiring reporter in the midst of the Great Depression, and Lindsey Bergman, an animal lover whose facing a brand new century. As the years have progressed, American Girl thrived, introducing their line of contemporary characters (which later became Girl of the Year), new historical characters (Ivy Ling and Julie Albright, along with Rebecca Rubin a few years later), and Truly Me (dolls that look like American Girls). Pleasant T. Rowland’s dream to celebrate American history and girls at the same time has become a huge success and it was wonderful to read the story.

First off, I had to have mentioned I love American Girl before. I grew up on it. I read the american women list mainhistorical books for years. I remember reading my first catalogue when I was about six or seven. Mia was the girl of the year back then, but what really intrigued me were the historical characters. Kit Kittredge and Felicity Merriman were my personal favorites, with their spunky outlook on life and the courage to do things in a time when that seemed impossible. I loved horses and I loved (and still love) writing like Kit. I was delighted to discover, when reading this book, that Kit debuted around the same timeline I was born! Coincidence?

My sisters and I have spent years with American Girl. Our tenth birthdays centered around it and we each have a doll (mini doll that is) of our favorite character. It’s been such a joy to have them and to read the books. I truly love American Girl and this book is such an ode to that kind of joy. So many girls have shared and loved American Girl. A whole generation has passed that is now mothers and is sharing American Girl with their daughters. This book is such a wonderful, colorful celebration of that. I highly recommend it.

Chime Time?  Who’s your favorite AG character?

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to American Girl: Ultimate Visual Guide

  1. Jen says:

    My favorite is the newer historical Maryellen. Terrific books! As a grown up fan, I have Addy, Kit, and Julie, whom I most relate to. 🌻

Leave a Reply

