A Wrinkle In Time – A Graphic Novel

Mrs. Whatsit said breathlessly,”Oh, my darlings, I’m sorry to say we don’t have time to say good-by to you properly. You see, we have too-” 

But they never learned what it was that Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which had to do, for there was a gust of wind, and they were gone. 

I’ve read A Wrinkle in Time many times. The most recent time however, was with my siblings and mother for our morning reads during school time. Going through a book wrinklex-largetogether is a very different, but very fun experience and one that I definitely enjoyed. When we closed the book, we watched the film, which was rather obviously low budget and did not adhere to the book’s finer points, in my opinion. I thought we were done with the story of the Murry family after that. Until I found this book.

Recently while volunteering I discovered a graphic novel version of A Wrinkle in Time. I wasn’t sure I wanted to check it out and throughout my time at the library would momentarily flip through to check it out. But eventually, to my advantage, I picked it out. I was seriously worried that the book would be just like the movie – significantly changed and not in a good way. Resigned to my fate and hoping to suffer through as quickly as I could, I opened the book. What I found was nothing like what I expected. It was almost exactly like the book, word for word. But it was, in many ways, better because I could physically see the characters. Meg, Calvin, and Charles came to life without effort and I found myself once again swept into the tale.

I think Hope Larson, the illustrator and adaptor, has done a remarkable job. Any fan of Madeleine L’Engle’s book will no doubt enjoy this visual retelling. 

Chime Time: What graphic or film adaptations of books have you read and liked as much or more? One of my personal favorite versions is A Series of Unfortunate Events. It’s a very funny take that differs from the books in a good way!

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Wrinkle In Time – A Graphic Novel

  1. Yeah, Jim Carey really made A Series of Unfortunate Events.

Leave a Reply

