Happy Birthday, Mom!

Here’s to the most beautiful woman I know – and I’m not exaggerating this time! My mother is a one of a kind person who I respect and look up to. She is gentle, kind, crazy OCD, and always ready for anything. To celebrate, I wanted to take some time to honor her for all the things she’s done for me:

Giving Me Singing Advice: Did I ever mention that my mom has a voice fit for a broadway musical? Well, maybe not quite her forte, but my mother has a set of lungs that makes you wonder if she’s not secretly Mary Poppins in disguise (Or Cinderella. Cinderella definitely works too). When she’s not singing on her own, my mom is always telling me what I should and shouldn’t be doing.

Teaching Me How to Cook: Chicken delicious. Homemade spaghetti/pizza sauce. Fresh mom-artbanana bread. Scones. Madelines. There’s nothing this woman won’t do and what she can’t she’ll figure it out! My mom has taught me to cook breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all while making it sound as easy as a Disney song!

Learning DIY Crafts and Projects: My mom is the first to admit that she’s not a very crafty person by nature. However, she’s made a tremendous effort to learn and figure out how to make everything from greeting cards to quilts. And she’s currently trying to help me learn how to sew my own clothes! For a person who isn’t naturally crafty, she certainly makes a brilliant effort to be. And that’s what I love about my mom, she’ll always try to do something more, even if it’s just a smile.

Boosting My Self-Confidence: I’ll be the first to admit it: being an adolescent is hard. From the ups and downs of new subjects to all the new responsibilities that come with it, being a young adult can be trying. Despite the fact that I’m all to willing to beat myself up for a mistake, my mom is always there to tell me I can – and will if she has anything to say about it – try again. Even though I struggle with failure, my mom will always get me back up to the plate. It’s not her job, it’s her choice.

Being My Drill Sergeant: No, I am not kidding with this one. My mom has military training. She knows how to run a clean, organized outfit and with a single word can make sure we don’t get out of line. But at the same time she understands our strengths and weaknesses and pushes us to stretch outside our comfort zone and further ourselves. It is not a request, it is a command. She will get us to grow and learn more, even if it takes a while to get the sense in through our thick skulls.

Being A Mom: Interesting, isn’t it? I learned something this father’s day when we were looking up quotes to use for my dad’s gift. The quote was, “Anyone can be a father. But it takes someone pretty special to be a dad.” Why not apply that to mothers as well? As I would say it, “Anyone can be a mother. But it takes someone pretty amazing to be a mom.”

Happy Birthday, Mom. May your reign last from now till your crown turns white. I wish you every happiness in the world.

This entry was posted in Other Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday, Mom!

  1. irene grau says:

    So lovely, Trinity. You’re not just fortunate to have your mom…she’s fortunate to have you, too! (I’ll be anxiously awaiting to see what amazing tributes you write for other family members [hint, hint]) 😀

Leave a Reply

