Update

A lot has happened since I last blogged. Some fun new information was found out, awesome books read, and a new job started! There’s a lot for me to talk about, so be prepared:

Since I’ve turned fourteen, I signed my papers, took an orientation, and got started volunteering at our local library! It’s super fun and while a little bit tiring (who knew carts full of books could be so heavy?), it’s a great start towards my dream of becoming a librarian/author. Yup, my dream officially includes the title of “librarian” now. Spending my life reading and writing sounds awesome to me and I want to thank my parents for helping me get one step closer to my dream by helping me volunteer and get set up. For any would-be volunteers, I encourage you guys to try it and have an open mind. Helping out at the local library can be fun and give you great insight into the world of literature. It also gives you a chance to spy a few new titles you may never have considered reading while shelving. My advice to you would be to drink a lot of water before going or bring some gum, it can get stuffy sometimes and I find that my throat will get a little bit dry. Another piece of advice would be to forget trying to re-organize the entire library, because trust me: it’s all messed up. Thankfully, out of the two sections that I did re-organize (and by re-organize I mean got down on my knees, took out all the books, and arranged alphabetically), one remained vaguely well kept.

In other news, we discovered that American Girl had released a historical character named Maryellen Larkin, whose story is set in the 1950’s, one of my favorite periods! There will be several events at the American Girl Store, which you can check out through the home page, and there are also several books that have been released and games to play online! I’m personally hoping to go to the events as any time to dress up dapper and historical is fun.

And last but not least, I have discovered that Brian Lies has produced yet another beautiful and fun book about our favorite bat characters. If you have been following my blog since its humble beginnings, you may recall that I reviewed his previous picture books. Check out the review for Bats at the Beach,  Bats at the Library, and Bats at the Ballgame on my blog. Later on I will do a full review of his most recent book. Until then, I will be volunteering at the library and keeping an eye out for more awesome books!

I will try to keep up with my blog, but it’s been a little while and there’s a lot of stuff going on right now. For now, write on and hopefully I’ll see you soon!

This entry was posted in Events, Other Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Update

  1. irene grau says:

    You organized books on the shelf alphabetically? They don’t do library of congress numbers or Dewey decimal? Or…wait…I guess fiction is alphabetical. Obviously I’ve only visited academic libraries for too long! lol

Leave a Reply

