The Writing Files: To Write Or Not to Write By Hand

There’s something beautiful about handwritten items. I don’t know why, there just is. There’s something alluring about a gilded notebook, filled with curvy, scrawled handwriting. The only problem? It takes forever to write that 1000 page book on Aristotle’s theories. The point being: to write or not to write by hand?

In defense of writing by hand, I present my first argument: traditional beauty. It’s something that everyone has done at one time or another and many great books from our past have been written by hand. So why not? Picking up a pen and writing by hand is

Handwriting

Handwriting

something that you’ll look back on and sigh with anticipation at. Another reason is improving your handwriting. It sounds silly, but this is a great reason to write by hand. Another good reason is that you never have to worry about your computer quitting all of a sudden. Paper is easily kept up, once separated from the usual haphazards.

Now, to crumble the dreams of writing by hand, mwa-ha-ha (imagine the lawyer from Mr. Toad). Typing is easier. It simply is. Fixing a mistake has never been simpler and writing straight is no longer a problem. You are also developing some great piano fingers (believe me, I know). Another thing is, the document will never crumble with age (at least, as long as your computer runs that long) and a little water can’t hurt it. It’s also a lot faster than writing by hand. If you’re one of those writers who can go up to 80 per minute, like me, you’ll be done with your novel in a couple months; that is, if your brain and imagination can catch up to your fingers.

To tell you the truth, I prefer to write by hand. I love looping and curving my words and feeling a writing vessel in my hand. However, necessity requires that if I am to attempt to finish my novel, I must type. My brain’s slow too slow and my creative juices a tad faster.

Is writing by hand truly better than typing (or vice versa)? What’s your take on it?

This entry was posted in Other Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Writing Files: To Write Or Not to Write By Hand

  1. Typing is definitely faster, but the art of a well-written page is also of note.

  2. Having to write more slowly (by hand) often makes me think my words through better; and when I type them up it’s basically an automatic second draft! Plus it’s portable and battery-free. 🙂

Leave a Reply

