Oh, Come On, It’s Only 585 Pages

DivineComedyFrescoReading is a passion of mine. Big books, little books, as long as it’s ok, I’ll read it. My parents have often encouraged me to read and recently I have been directed to do so.

Dante’s The Divine Comedy, is a rather large book and is my required read for the month. While I don’t mind the theme and plot (which actually has a few interesting points), the fact that it has 585 pages and is written in verse had made me very reluctant. Why? Because many things written in verse have complex wording.

Another reason is that I have read J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings and even those were only 300-400 pages long! I thought having to read through something long and written in incomprehensible dialect would take up all my time.

I have been proven wrong. Upon opening the book this morning, I found it to be very interesting, catching the reader’s attention at once. Also, I thought that the verses he wrote are not only understandable, but elegant in their own way!

This circumstance has taught me not to judge books by how they are written and by their “585” pages.

 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh, Come On, It’s Only 585 Pages

  1. pam2626 says:

    I’m impressed!

  2. That page length is quite daunting. Glad you’re enjoying.

  3. I love Dante’s The Divine Comedy and all the meaning and symbolism Dante underlies the story with. I am very happy you have chosen to take up the monumental task, for as you said, it is 585 pages! Also, if you find it very interesting or even have trouble relating some of the symbolism in the book (the different people in the different stage of the inferno, etc.) read up on Dante’s life, it will make the book and some of the characters more understandable and a lot more compelling! Enjoy!

    • trinitygrau says:

      Thank you for the suggestion! My parents are doing a great job of making sure I understand the text and the ideals behind his writing, which makes the read that much more interesting.

  4. dogfordavid says:

    Valuable lesson learned there and glad you are enjoying the book 🙂

Leave a Reply

