Me and My Friends

I am writing a story about me falling into a magical world. Wow! I thought it would be fun to write an abridged version here of the first chapter:

                                                                       Me and My Friends
                                                                   #1 The Magic Funhouse

     I looked around the fairgrounds at all the rides. There were smells of corn-on-the-cob, roasted turkey leg, and churros. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I looked to my right. Behind a building, there lay a funhouse. “Oh! Lets go there first!” I dragged Pop’s hand and finally, when he wouldn’t go any faster, I broke free and ran. “Trinity!” Called Mom. I stopped and slowly turned around. “Yes?” I was disappointed. “Don’t run away from us, OK?” I shrugged. “OK.” I walked slowly toward the funhouse. When we reached it, I looked up at the plastic sign.  The sign read in swirly writing: Magic Funhouse. It looked like wood. So realistic. I jumped and just barely touched it. I gasped. It was real wood. I glanced at the man running it. He was all smiles. I smiled back at him. He had warm, brown eyes, and dark hair. He was dressed casually. He was wearing a gray shirt and jeans. He had a fedora on and he held it to his chest as he bowed low. “Welcome to my amazing, magic funhouse. An adventure awaits you inside.” I looked down at the bag slung around my neck. Gigi, July, Story, Hilda, and Kit rested in it. Kit’s head was so small and it blended in with the bag. I could see her twinkling, blue eyes. Go on, she seemed to say, ask how much it is. I felt assured, so I looked up. “How much is it to go inside the funhouse, sir?” The man smiled. “My name is Mr. Mann, and the magic funhouse is free.” I looked hopefully up at Pop. He grinned. “Go ahead.” I ran in, my heart leaping. What were these “adventures” Mr. Mann had been talking about? Whatever they were, they were sure to be amazing. I climbed ladders, took a little ride on a mini roller coaster, and did so many other things I couldn’t possibly remember. I finally found myself at a room filled with nothing but doors. I stared around in puzzlement. Some doors had fake backgrounds, but some were just plain oak doors. I stared at a gingerbread house. This looked promising. I closed my eyes and opened the door. I stepped through and opened my eyes. A swirl of colors had taken effect in the air, and I felt dizzy. Silver and gold sparkles glowed and glittered in the air. They settled after ten seconds. I blinked and looked around. This wasn’t the funhouse at all! 
This entry was posted in My Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Me and My Friends

  1. Tia Nene says:

    Trinity, you've definitely come a long way in your ability to create a scene! I could smell the smells and see everything you described — good job! I also like how you've left us at a cliff-hanger that makes us want more — very clever! I look forward to reading the whole story.

Leave a Reply

